Types of Users:
CrowdTangle has four types of users: Account Owners, Team Owners, Dashboard Users, and Read-Only Users. The chart below describes what each can do:
Note that the permissions are cumulative as you move right on the chart. Dashboard Users can do everything Read-Only Users can do, Team Owners can do everything both of those User types can do, etc.
CrowdTangle has no limit on the number of Account Owners your Account can have (nor the number of Team Owners a Team can have). If your Account doesn't currently have an Account Owner, e-mail your CrowdTangle Account Team contact or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Granting Access to CrowdTangle:
Once your organization has a CrowdTangle account, you have the ability to create user accounts for as many of your colleagues as you need. CrowdTangle offers several ways for you to do so:
- Dashboard Invites
- Dashboard Passwords
- Account-Level Invites
- Enterprise Sign-Up Pages (Domains)
Note: it is against your Terms of Service to give CrowdTangle access to people outside of your organization.
Account Owners, Team Owners, and Dashboard users can all invite people into a Dashboard. If the user already has a CrowdTangle account, the Dashboard will be added to their master list of Dashboards. If they do not yet have a CrowdTangle account, this process will create one for them.
Dashboard invites can be sent out from inside of the Dashboard by clicking on the gear icon (upper right) and either by selecting "Invite People":
Or by selecting "User Management" and then "Invite People":
There are several options available in the Invite People panel:
Add Email Addresses: You can send multiple invitations out at once by adding a comma between the email addresses.
User Type: Invitees can either be made full Dashboard users or can be granted read-only access. (see above)
Once an invitation has been sent, the invitees will receive an email from CrowdTangle with a confirmation link. They must click on the confirmation link to complete the process. It's a good idea to reach out to them so they know to expect the email.
Users can also be given the ability to add themselves to your dashboards by giving them the Dashboard's URL and either a user or read-only password. These passwords can be accessed through Dashboard Settings:
Each Dashboard has two passwords: one that gives full Dashboard user permissions and one that gives read-only permissions. The passwords are randomly set for each Dashboard but can be changed by any Dashboard user:
The process for a user to add themselves to a Dashboard has three steps:
- The user enters the Dashboard's URL into their browser
- The user will then be asked to Log into their Facebook account
- The user will provide either the User or Read-Only Password for the Dashboard
Partners often use this method to allow new employees to manage their own Dashboard access.
Account Owners have the option of inviting users into all of the Account's dashboards at once in the User section of their Account Settings:
Users can be invited in as Users or as Owners:
As with any invites, the user will receive an email from CrowdTangle with a link they must click on to complete the process.
Enterprise Sign-Up Pages (Domains):
Each Account comes with an Enterprise Sign-Up page that allows users to self-register for CrowdTangle. The Approved Domains section of Account Settings allows you to white list specific e-mail domains to control who can use your sign up page. Note that Domains set up in this area of Account Settings are Account-level Domains (see below).
For more information on setting up Team-level Domains, visit our Team Management article.
When a new user attempts to sign up for CrowdTangle using your Account's Enterprise Sign-Up Page, one of three things will happen:
If the user's e-mail domain matches an Account-level domain: The user will receive an email with a registration confirmation link. Once they have completed registration, they will have access to all of the Dashboards associated with the Account.
If the user's e-mail domain matches a Team-level domain: The user will receive an email with a registration confirmation link. Once they have completed registration, they will be added to the Team associated with the email domain and will have access to the Dashboards associated with that Team.
If the user's email domain doesn't match any of the Account domains: The user will receive an error on the page: